University Academic Calendar

 Go to registrar.sewanee.edu/calendars/ to view all the University calendars.


UNIVERSITY ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR 2013
2014

Advent Semester — 2013
August 11, Sunday, College place-based course move-in
August 24, Saturday, Other new college students arrive and Orientation begins
August 25, Sunday, Parents’ Orientation begins (College)
August 28, Wednesday, Classes begin
October 11, Friday, Founders’ Day Convocation
October 11-13, Friday-Sunday, Family Weekend
October 15, Tuesday, Mid-Semester
October 21-22, Monday-Tuesday, Fall Break
October 21-25, Monday-Friday, School of Theology Reading Week
October 25-27, Friday-Monday, Homecoming Weekend (College)
October 30-November 1, Wednesday-Friday, DuBose Lecture and Alumni/ae Gathering (School of Theology)
November 27-29, Wednesday-Friday, Thanksgiving Break
December 8, Sunday, Lessons & Carols
December 10, Tuesday, Last day of classes (College)
December 17, Tuesday, Last day of classes (School of Theology)
December 17, Tuesday, Final Examinations end (College)

Easter Semester — 2014
January 13, Monday, Classes begin (School of Theology)
January 14, Tuesday, Classes begin (College)
January 17, Friday, Opening Convocation
March 3, Monday, Mid-Semester
March 12, Wednesday, Spring Break begins at 5 p.m.
March 24, Monday, Classes resume after Spring Break
April 20, Sunday, Easter
April 30, Wednesday, Last day of classes
May 7, Wednesday, Final Examinations end
May 9, Friday, School of Theology Commencement
May 10, Saturday, Baccalaureate
May 11, Sunday, Commencement

Summer 2014
June 8-July 20, Summer School (College) (tentative)
June 9-27, Advanced Degrees Program (School) (tentative)

 
ACADEMIC YEAR
The academic year is officially defined as Advent and Easter semesters. For those who enroll in summer school, the academic credit is associated with the preceding term.

ACADEMIC ATTENDANCE
Class attendance is mandatory the day a break begins and the day classes resume after a break. More on class attendance is found at www2.sewanee.edu/academic_life/class_attendance